skip general nav links ACHP home About ACHP


National Historic

Working with
Section 106

Federal, State, & Tribal Programs

Training & Education


 skip specific nav links
Home arrowNews arrowJuly 18, 2013

Presidential Appointee Leonard Forsman Joins the ACHP

from left, ACHP Chairman Wayne Donaldson, Leonard Forsman, Dorothy Lippert (ACHP member who assisted with the swearing in)

Leonard Forsman, Chairman of the Suquamish Tribe, received the oath of office at the July 18 meeting of the Advisory Council on Historic Preservation (ACHP).

He was appointed to the independent federal agency by President Barack Obama in May 2013. He now holds the member position reserved for a member of a federally recognized Indian tribe or Native Hawaiian organization.

“I am excited and humbled to begin serving the ACHP,” Forsman said. “I hope to contribute to the ACHP mission of protecting historic properties, especially in Indian Country, drawing on my experience as an archaeologist, historian and tribal leader. Most of all, I hope I can help tribal and other communities to realize the cultural, social, economic and spiritual benefits of historic preservation in their respective communities.”

According to the White House announcement of May 8: “Leonard Forsman is Chairman of the Suquamish Tribe, a position he has held since 2005. Previously, he was a research archaeologist for Larson Anthropological/Archaeological Services in Seattle, Washington, from 1992 to 2003. From 1984 to 1990, he was Director of the Suquamish Museum in Suquamish, Washington, and has served on the Museum Board of Directors since 2010. He has been Vice President of the Washington Indian Gaming Association since 2010 and has been a member of the Washington State Historical Society Board since 2007, the Suquamish Tribal Cultural Cooperative Committee since 2006, and the Tribal Leaders Congress on Education since 2005. Mr. Forsman received a B.A. in Anthropology from the University of Washington and an M.A. in Historic Preservation from Goucher College.”

“Leonard Forsman is well-known to members and staff of the ACHP as someone whose experience and expertise we have benefited from for many years,” said Milford Wayne Donaldson, FAIA, ACHP chairman. “The ACHP’s mission of promoting the preservation and appreciation of the nation’s multi-faceted rich cultural heritage will be greatly aided by his knowledge and experience.”

The 23-member ACHP is comprised of members designated by legislation whom are largely directly appointed by the President. In addition to the heads of several federal agencies, citizen and expert members, ACHP members also include a currently serving governor, mayor, and a member of an Indian tribe or Native Hawaiian organization. The position was formerly held by John Berrey, a member of both the Quapaw Tribe and Osage Nation, whose term had expired.


Return to Top