horizontal banner with Preserve America logo and images of a historic downtown, farm, courthouse, and mountain

Preserve America is a national initiative in cooperation with the Advisory Council on Historic Preservation; the U.S. Departments of Defense, Interior, Agriculture, Commerce, Housing and Urban Development, Transportation, and Education; the National Endowment for the Humanities; the President's Committee on the Arts and Humanities; and the President's Council on Environmental Quality.

The seal of the President of the United StatesAdvisory Council on Historic Preservation logoU.S. Department of the Interior sealU.S. Department of Commerce seal
U.S. Department of Agriculture logo
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development logo













































Preserve America Communities Now Total 736; Applications Available

With 23 new designations made on January 13, 2009, there are now 736 Preserve America Communities in all 50 United States and its territories.

Since the initial eight Preserve America Communities were announced in January 2004, by Mrs. Laura Bush, former First Lady of the United States and Honorary Chair of Preserve America, the program has grown to encompass 736 cities, counties, tribes or neighborhoods. This total includes 17 historic neighborhoods within large cities, 67 counties, and three tribal communities.

While these are the final designations announced under Mrs. Bush’s service as honorary chair, the Preserve America initiative continues, and tribes, counties, neighborhoods and cities that qualify under the nomination criteria are encouraged to apply for Preserve America Community designation. The next formal quarterly deadline for applications is March 1, 2009.

The most recent round of designations included the following:

Valley, Alabama             
Tombstone, Arizona         
Batesville, Arizona         
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Hot Springs, Arkansas
North Little Rock, Arkansas
Randolph County, Arkansas                                     
Tyronza, Arkansas             
Livermore, California            
Bloomington, Indiana       
Greensburg, Indiana         
Logansport, Indiana   
Wabash, Indiana              
Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan
Miles City, Montana             
Halfmoon, New York         
North Castle, New York
Waterford, New York      
Lancaster, Pennsylvania  
Blythewood, South Carolina
Austin, Texas                   
Belton, Texas                   
Bryan, Texas          

Updated January 26, 2009

February 11, 2009yled as indicated in wider menus), and text as needed -->