horizontal banner with Preserve America logo and images of a historic downtown, farm, courthouse, and mountain

Preserve America is a national initiative in cooperation with the Advisory Council on Historic Preservation; the U.S. Departments of Defense, Interior, Agriculture, Commerce, Housing and Urban Development, Transportation, and Education; the National Endowment for the Humanities; the President's Committee on the Arts and Humanities; and the President's Council on Environmental Quality.

The seal of the President of the United StatesAdvisory Council on Historic Preservation logoU.S. Department of the Interior sealU.S. Department of Commerce seal
U.S. Department of Agriculture logo
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development logo













































Preserve America Communities Total 521

As of July 31, the number of designated Preserve America Communities is 521. All states and the U.S. Virgin Islands are now represented with Preserve America Communities. Mrs. Laura Bush sent a letter of congratulations to the 20 newest communities which now include several large cities.

The 20 new communities are the following: St. George Island, Alaska; Little Italy, San Diego, California; Savannah, Georgia; Letcher County, Kentucky; Mt. Vernon, Kentucky; New Orleans, Louisiana; Ferndale, Michigan; Carver, Minnesota; Baldwyn, Mississippi; Las Vegas, Nevada; Dutchess County, New York; Ossining, New York; New Bern, North Carolina; Shelby, North Carolina; Canal Winchester, Ohio; Ponca City, Oklahoma; Horry County, South Carolina; Blount County, Tennessee; Columbia, Tennessee; and Bradford, Vermont.

Posted December 21, 2007