horizontal banner with Preserve America logo and images of a historic downtown, farm, courthouse, and mountain

Preserve America is a national initiative in cooperation with the Advisory Council on Historic Preservation; the U.S. Departments of Defense, Interior, Agriculture, Commerce, Housing and Urban Development, Transportation, and Education; the National Endowment for the Humanities; the President's Committee on the Arts and Humanities; and the President's Council on Environmental Quality.

The seal of the President of the United StatesAdvisory Council on Historic Preservation logoU.S. Department of the Interior sealU.S. Department of Commerce seal
U.S. Department of Agriculture logo
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development logo











Calling All Outstanding History Teachers

An important component of the Preserve America initiative is the honoring of outstanding history teachers across the United States. Now in its fourth year, the History Teacher of the Year Award is taking nominations for its 2007 award. Visit the Gilder Lehrman Institute site to find out more.

The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History administers this award program which chooses history teachers of the year in each state, Washington, D.C., U.S. territories and Department of Defense schools. Each winner receives $1,000 and an archive of history materials for his or her school library. One national winner is selected from that pool to be honored at a ceremony in New York City or Washington, D.C. each fall. First Lady Mrs. Laura Bush, honorary chair of Preserve America, presides over that ceremony. Check here for state deadlines.


Posted June 27, 2007

Return to Top