horizontal banner with Preserve America logo and images of a historic downtown, farm, courthouse, and mountain

Preserve America is a national initiative in cooperation with the Advisory Council on Historic Preservation; the U.S. Departments of Defense, Interior, Agriculture, Commerce, Housing and Urban Development, Transportation, and Education; the National Endowment for the Humanities; the President's Committee on the Arts and Humanities; and the President's Council on Environmental Quality.

The seal of the President of the United StatesAdvisory Council on Historic Preservation logoU.S. Department of the Interior sealU.S. Department of Commerce seal
U.S. Department of Agriculture logo
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development logo



























Monterey and Santa Monica Designated as Preserve America Communities

Santa Monica Pier, California
Santa Monica Pier, California
February 18, 2005, Monterey, CA— Monterey and Santa Monica have been designated among the newest of the Nation's 220 Preserve America Communities, joining Fresno as the second and third communities to achieve this distinction in California.

Santa Monica Mayor Pam O'Connor and Monterey Mayor Dan Albert received certificates signed by Mrs. Laura Bush notifying them that their cities are now Preserve America Communities.

John L. Nau, III, chairman of the Advisory Council on Historic Preservation (ACHP), presented the certificates today during the ACHP winter business meeting.

"Preserve America communities demonstrate that they are committed to preserving America's heritage while ensuring a future filled with opportunities for learning and enjoyment," Mrs. Bush said.

"This community designation program, combined with the Preserve America Presidential Awards and Federal support, provides strong incentives for continued preservation of our cultural and natural heritage resources. I commend them for their commitment to preserving an important part of our nation's historic past for visitors, neighbors, and, most importantly, for children."

The Preserve America initiative is a White House effort to encourage and support community efforts for the preservation and enjoyment of America's priceless cultural and natural heritage.

The goals of the initiative include a greater shared knowledge about the Nation's past; strengthened regional identities and local pride; increased local participation in preserving the country's cultural and natural heritage assets; and support for the economic vitality of communities.

"There are significant economic, educational, and cultural benefits that historic preservation, through efforts such as heritage tourism, provide a community," Nau said. "Sustainable preservation is not a cost for maintaining the past, it is an investment in the future. These communities are to be commended for their dedication to historic preservation and their vision for the future."

Communities designated through the program receive national recognition for their efforts. Benefits include use of the Preserve America logo, listing in a government Web-based directory to showcase preservation and heritage tourism efforts, and eligibility for special existing and proposed Preserve America grants and funding through various government agencies.

As of January 2005, there were 220 designated Preserve America communities in 34 States, including one American Indian tribe. Fresno was designated at a Capitol Hill event on March 18, 2004.

The next quarterly deadline for Preserve America Community applications is March 1, 2005. For more information, including brief profiles of the three California communities, application forms, and procedures, visit www.PreserveAmerica.gov/communities.html.

The ACHP and the U.S. Departments of Agriculture, Commerce, Defense, Housing and Urban Development, and the Interior partner to administer the Preserve Americainitiative on behalf of the Office of the First Lady.

Updated April 8, 2005

Return to Top