horizontal banner with Preserve America logo and images of a historic downtown, farm, courthouse, and mountain

Preserve America is a national initiative in cooperation with the Advisory Council on Historic Preservation; the U.S. Departments of Defense, Interior, Agriculture, Commerce, Housing and Urban Development, Transportation, and Education; the National Endowment for the Humanities; the President's Committee on the Arts and Humanities; and the President's Council on Environmental Quality.

The seal of the President of the United StatesAdvisory Council on Historic Preservation logoU.S. Department of the Interior sealU.S. Department of Commerce seal
U.S. Department of Agriculture logo
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development logo





























New Preserve America Communities Recognized for Commitment to Historic Preservation

For more information, contact Bruce Milhans  (202-606-8513)

Interior Secretary Gale Norton speaks at the Congressional Historic Preservation Caucus Preserve America recognition event June 30, 2005. (Photo: Steven E. Purcell)
Interior Secretary Gale Norton speaks at the Congressional Historic Preservation Caucus Preserve America recognition event June 30, 2005.
(Photo: Steven E. Purcell)

June 30, 2005, Washington, DC—Secretary of the Interior Gale Norton joined the Congressional Historic Preservation Caucus of the U.S. House of Representatives and Preserve America today to announce the designation of 24 new Preserve America Communities.

"Through the vision and leadership of First Lady Laura Bush, Honorary Chair of Preserve America, communities across America are finding new ways to celebrate their history and tell their stories," Secretary Norton said.

"Each community has its own story. These stories present opportunities—opportunities for heritage tourism, education, and historic preservation. Through Preserve America, these stories come alive."

Secretary Norton was joined today by Representatives Brad Miller and Michael Turner, co-chairs of the Congressional Historic Preservation Caucus, and John L. Nau, III, chairman of the Advisory Council on Historic Preservation.

"Sustainable preservation is not a cost for maintaining the past; it is an investment in building the future," Nau said. "These communities are leaders in this trend and have created a powerful positive example for others."

The 24 communities receiving the Preserve America Community designation today are being recognized for their dedication to protecting and celebrating their heritage. They are:

Arkansas—Eureka Springs
Kentucky—Benham; Campbellsville; Pikeville; Pineville
Minnesota—Red Wing; St. Cloud
Montana—Fort Benton
New York—Schenectady
North Carolina—Hatteras Village; Kinston
Texas—Canton; Canyon; Sabine County
Utah—Farmington; Kanab
Virginia—Prince William County

Designation as a Preserve America Community provides national recognition for what communities have already achieved, while also serving as a way to enhance the contribution of heritage tourism and other economic development strategies to their economies.

This unique designation indicates that the community is working to preserve and use its heritage assets as building blocks for the future.

Preserve America is a White House initiative to encourage and support community efforts for the preservation and enjoyment of our priceless cultural and natural heritage.

The goals of the initiative include a greater shared knowledge about the Nation's past, strengthened regional identities and local pride, increased local participation in preserving the country's cultural and natural heritage assets, and support for the economic vitality of our communities.

For more information on Preserve America communities, visit www.PreserveAmerica.gov/communities.html.

Posted July 26, 2005

Return to Top