horizontal banner with Preserve America logo and images of a historic downtown, farm, courthouse, and mountain

Preserve America is a national initiative in cooperation with the Advisory Council on Historic Preservation; the U.S. Departments of Defense, Interior, Agriculture, Commerce, Housing and Urban Development, Transportation, and Education; the National Endowment for the Humanities; the President's Committee on the Arts and Humanities; and the President's Council on Environmental Quality.

The seal of the President of the United StatesAdvisory Council on Historic Preservation logoU.S. Department of the Interior sealU.S. Department of Commerce seal
U.S. Department of Agriculture logo
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development logo














































Mrs. Laura Bush Designates 61 New Preserve America Communities

WASHINGTON, DC—Mrs. Laura Bush designated 61 additional Preserve America Communities in August 2004, bringing the nationwide total to 169 as of September 1, 2004.

"Preserve America Communities demonstrate that they are committed to preserving America's heritage while ensuring a future filled with opportunities for learning and enjoyment," Mrs. Bush said.

"This new community designation program, combined with the Preserve America Presidential Awards and Federal support, provides strong incentives for continued preservation of our cultural and natural heritage resources. I commend you for your commitment to preserving an important part of our Nation's historic past for visitors, neighbors, and, most importantly, for children."

Community officials received a letter from Mrs. Bush announcing the designation. The Preserve America initiative is a White House effort to encourage and support community efforts for the preservation and enjoyment of America's priceless cultural and natural heritage.

The goals of the initiative include a greater shared knowledge about the Nation's past; strengthened regional identities and local pride; increased local participation in preserving the country's cultural and natural heritage assets; and support for the economic vitality of communities.

With designations beginning Jan. 15, 2004, from communities that have applied for the honor, Preserve America Communities are now located in 31 States. The latest round of designations totaled 61, including 10 communities in nine states that were not formerly represented. These formerly non-represented States and their communities are:

New Mexico—Las Vegas
North Carolina—Thomasville
North Dakota—Fargo
Pennsylvania—Montgomery County
Utah—Mount Pleasant; Pleasant Grove

The other 51 communities were from States that already contained Preserve America Communities. These newly designated communities are:

Colorado—Fort Collins; Pueblo

Florida—Daytona Beach; Dunedin; Kissimmee; St. Augustine

Kentucky—Augusta; Barbourville; Bellevue; Boone County; Dawson Springs; Dayton; Georgetown; Hodgenville; Liberty; Morehead; Munfordville; Princeton; Rabbit Hash; Stanford

Georgia—Richmond Hill; Roswell; Washington

Maryland—Cumberland; Snow Hill

Mississippi—Designation to be announced at later date at community's request

New York—Saratoga Springs


Rhode Island—East Greenwich; Little Compton; New Shoreham; Kingstown; Westerly

Texas—Alpine; Celina; Clarksville; Farmersville; Georgetown; Gonzales; Llano; Luling; Mount Vernon; Pilot Point; Pittsburg; Roaring Springs; Taylor

Virginia—Alexandria; Hanover County; Petersburg; Warrenton

Wyoming—Green River

Communities designated through the program receive national recognition for their efforts. Benefits include use of the Preserve America logo, listing in a Government Web-based directory to showcase preservation and heritage tourism efforts, and eligibility for proposed Preserve America grants that will begin in Fiscal Year 2005 if enacted by Congress.

John L. Nau, III, chairman of the Federal Advisory Council on Historic Preservation (ACHP), said, "There are significant economic, educational, and cultural benefits that historic preservation, through efforts such as heritage tourism, bring to a community. Sustainable preservation is not a cost for maintaining the past, it is an investment in building the future. You have shown that your community is a national leader in this trend and have created a powerful positive example for others."

The ACHP, Department of the Interior, Department of Commerce, and Department of Agriculture partner to administer the Preserve America Community program on behalf of the Office of the First Lady.

Updated October 12, 2004

Return to Top