horizontal banner with Preserve America logo and images of a historic downtown, farm, courthouse, and mountain

Preserve America is a national initiative in cooperation with the Advisory Council on Historic Preservation; the U.S. Departments of Defense, Interior, Agriculture, Commerce, Housing and Urban Development, Transportation, and Education; the National Endowment for the Humanities; the President's Committee on the Arts and Humanities; and the President's Council on Environmental Quality.

The seal of the President of the United StatesAdvisory Council on Historic Preservation logoU.S. Department of the Interior sealU.S. Department of Commerce seal
U.S. Department of Agriculture logo
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development logo






































Historic Preservation Caucus Sponsors Preserve America Community Designation Event

Representatives of Hattiesburg, Mississippi, pose with DOI representative Lynn Scarlett and U.S. Representatives Michael Turner and Brad Miller. ACHP chairman John Nau is at the podium.

The Historic Preservation Caucus joined the ACHP and the Department of the Interior on Capitol Hill March 18 to honor 20 communities with Preserve America designations. Pictured above are representatives of Hattiesburg, Mississippi, with ACHP Chairman John Nau (at podium), DOI Assistant Secretary Lynn Scarlett (third from right), and U.S. Representatives Michael Turner and Brad Miller, Historic Preservation Caucus co-chairs (at right). (Photo: Steven E. Purcell)

The Historic Preservation Caucus of the U.S. House of Representatives joined with Preserve America to announce the designations of 20 new Preserve America Communities March 18, 2004.

The event was held on Capitol Hill at the Rayburn House Office Building in Washington, DC. Historic Preservation Caucus co-chairs Representative Brad Miller, North Carolina, and Representative Michael Turner, Ohio, hosted the event with Lynn Scarlett, Department of the Interior Assistant Secretary for Policy, Management, and Budget, and John Nau, Advisory Council on Historic Preservation chairman.

Numerous officials from the 20 designated communities were on hand to accept certificates. These new Preserve America Communities are:

Preserve America Community sign and DOI Secretary NortonOn March 20, 2004, another Preserve America Community designation ceremony was held in Augusta, Georgia, at the Augusta Canal National Heritage Area Interpretive Center. The event, which honored six Georgia communities, was hosted by Augusta mayor and ACHP member Bob Young, with DOI Secretary Gale Norton presenting the designations. A new Preserve America sign was unveiled at the event.

The new Georgia Preserve America Communities are:

The Preserve America Community program recognizes and designates communities that protect and celebrate their heritage, use their historic assets for economic development and community revitalization, and encourage people to experience and appreciate local historic resources through education and heritage tourism programs.

Preserve America, a White House initiative, encourages and supports community efforts for the preservation and enjoyment of our priceless cultural and natural heritage. The goals of the initiative include: a greater shared knowledge about the Nation's past, strengthened regional identities and local pride, increased local participation in preserving the country's cultural and natural heritage assets, and support for the economic vitality of our communities.

Updated October 12, 2004

Return to Top